Teach English Online for 51Talk-HAWO

Interested?

Click Apply to go to our application form.

APPLY

About the job

Our partner school 51Talk-HAWO are one of the largest online education companies in China, and are listed on the New York Stock Exchange. The role is teaching English online to students in China, where the classes are split into groups with students aged 4-15 years old.

Qualification Requirements

Bachelor's degree or above

Experience Requirements

Teaching experience in the U.S. or Canadian education systems (at least 1 years worth of teaching experience)

Salary

$18.00 per 45 minute lesson

You will need to be able to commit to a minimum of 10 teaching hours a week (within the time slots that can be seen under 51Talk-HAWO's FAQ's section 'Position Details'). In addition to the base pay, there is also the opportunity for bonuses and incentives

Frequently Asked Questions

Click here to view the FAQ's for 51Talk-HAWO

Who are 51Talk-HAWO?

Like you, 51Talk-HAWO wants to make the world a better place for tomorrow. As one of China’s premier online educational companies, our mission is to make quality education available and affordable in China. Their talented North American teachers are vital to their success. They make a difference every day by teaching Chinese K-12 kids about English, American culture and values through their online platform.


What is the position?

The classes: 45-minute English language group classes

The pay: Base rate of $15 per 45-minute class, plus bonuses and incentives

The curriculum: U.S. Common Core aligned lesson material, customized for Chinese students

The timing: Teachers can select a class time from a list of potential assignments (Peak teaching times are from Monday to Friday, 6:00-9:00 PM Beijing Standard Time) that may run for 10 weeks, on average

The place: Conveniently teach from your own home - no commute!

The tech: All you’ll need is a computer (please see 'What are the technical requirements?' for more information), a strong internet connection, a webcam, and a noise-cancelling headset

The culture: We provide cultural discussion opportunities every week


What does the job involve?

Contract type: Independent contractor

Start date: Immediately

Contract term: Part-Time (1 year)

Payment details: Teachers are paid through their choice of PayPal or bank transfer each month for the previous month’s work


Group Class lessons are during peak hours:

EST: 6:00 AM - 9:00 AM

CST: 5:00 AM - 8:00 AM

MST: 4:00 AM - 7:00 AM

PST: 3:00 AM - 6:00 AM

Hawaii: 1:00 AM - 4:00 AM


What are the requirements?

  • Bachelor's Degree
  • At least 1 year of formal teaching experience
  • Teaching experience in the U.S. or Canadian education systems

Is there anything else which would help my application?

  • Teaching certification (state certifications, TESOL, TEFL, etc.)

They have further defined 6 key characteristics that they believe make their teachers truly exceptional: Personal credibility, Customer orientation, Flexibility, Effective communication, Technical expertise, Patience)


What are the technical requirements?

For WINDOWS:

Processor:

  • Released 2013 and up - not more than 5 years old from manufacturing/release date
  • Intel Core i series - i3, i5, i7 with at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)
  • AMD - A8 with at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)

Operating System (OS):

  • Windows 7 and up, must be 64bit

For MAC:

Processor:

  • Released 2013 and up - not more than 5 years old from manufacturing/release date
  • Intel Core i5
  • Intel Core i3 (Only if Mac OS is Sierra)
  • With at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)

Operating System (OS):

  • El Capitan and up